The Other Kind of Unwanted Child Advice

April 19, 2008 at 1:54 pm 5 comments

We all remember being newly weds and having eyebrows raised about when we’d get pregnant. It’s so common in our culture to be questioned about our choice to procreate. But this time I think I’ve seen it all! If it wasn’t enough that people used to question me about when I’d get pregnant, now I have people questioning why I’d want to get pregnant! Why can’t people just leave everyone be? If I don’t comment on why you don’t want kids… who are you to ask why I want so many? I could have 5 or 10 or more. It’s really no one’s business.

Me thinks people need to keep to themselves.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Choosing a College… Celebrating a year full of Ayzah-ness!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lubna  |  April 19, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    thats so true..i get that all the time too..Now that i already have two boys ppl tell me not to have anymore becz wat if i end up wit a 3rd boy or watever..so wat i say..i love kids and i will have as many as i want RITE….its SO ANNOYWING when someone else tells u how many u should have or when i should i have…Really ppl need to mind there own business!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. unaizanasim  |  April 20, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    LOL! I can so relate to it. My SIL asked me as soon as I came back frm honeymoon “Phopo kab baan rahi ho” …LOL!!!! And it was only 10 days after our marriage!
    I used to set me on fire..and it still does. I ownder y cant we all just mind our own business!
    I never questioned my bhabi:-S

    Reply
  • 3. Umi  |  April 20, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    sumthn almost all women can relate to! lol i remember because i got preg soon after marriage…altho every1 was happy 4 us…sum ppl cudnt help but comment on how young i was how soon it was and then how i shud hav as many more as i wanted soon! it was a weird contradictory world of advice i tell ya! whats even worse is how on a recent trip to the inlaws the old aunties said i shud have as many (like open a tap lol) cos it wudnt affect me (!health hello?) lol….yep ppl shud let ppl do it there own way cos thats what makes life fun and unique for everyone. We’re all outta school now 😀

    Reply
  • 4. Dariush  |  April 21, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Goodness, people are saying THAT to you? How very odd. That’s precisely the kind of question I would be tempted to deflect with a heavily sarcastic put-down… but I can’t think of one just at this moment.

    Reply
  • 5. pi  |  April 21, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    that’s just ridiculous. i thought it stopped by the time one had at least a kid. People can be just so tactless. I wonder what they expect you to answer? I especially hate these questions – How’s married life? Like do they expect you to say it sucks its like the worst thing ever, I am now stuck with a horrible roommate for life. Or when are you getting married? Or when can we expect to be *insert some relation*. How is that any of your concern and how does it affect you at ALL. I have had really ridiculous questions thrown at me. At my younger sister’s wedding, some random person who I had never ever had met, but happens to be some distant relative – asked me aren’t you older? Why aren’t you married -what’s wrong with you? IIm like back off lady. And like Dariush above, I couldn’t think of anything witty or sarcastic to say at that point. Just so shocked. All the witty comebacks come to me after a substantial time delay. Sadness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Stats

var sc_project=3174830; var sc_invisible=0; var sc_partition=26; var sc_security="cb3e384c";
free web hit counter

