Over these past few weeks…

May 10, 2008 at 9:30 pm 4 comments

We’ve been a little bogged down. A lot has happened and is still happening. And sometimes all this “happening” kind of throws things off. Here’s just a mess of thoughts from my head…

-Omair’s dad had a near fatal heart attack a week ago. It’s left the entire family shaken. Alhamdulillah he’s much better now, and on the mend, but it’s been rough on all of us.

-Omair went to Karachi so he could be with his family. Which meant that I was alone here – with the girls. Which also meant a pile of crazy work and double duty.

-I wasn’t sleeping well. Having Omair out of the house is really hard on me. I just can’t seem to go to sleep, and no matter how tired my body is… my mind stays restless.

-I’ve been substituting for a friend this past week, and it’s taught me one very important lesson… I am NOT ready to go back to work yet. Life has been chaotic and I’ve just been run down with the amount of work at hand.

-I’ve planned a birthday party for Iman, which means having to run around and do a lot of prep before the day. This whole weekend I spent looking for goody bag fillers and helping her shop for a new dress to wear for her big day…

-Which is a whole this on its own. If you know Iman, you know NEVER to take this kid shopping. She practically fell in love with every dress there was. And then she found shoes to match all of them! She literally walked around the store picking up one dress after the other… had some tucked under her arm… and still kept going! And when I asked her to choose one, she did her puppy dog eyes and said “But I thought it’s my birthday”.

-Ayzah is somewhere between teething and hating me for going to work. Whatever it is… she’s been really ratty, and I’m NOT liking it.

-A friend’s birthday is coming up, and amidst all this I decided to organize the party… which meant finding a venue, booking it, calling people to invite… etc.

-I decided to do something really special for this friend of mine… she’s turning 30, so I’m going to give her a box full of 30 things a girl can’t live without. And THAT took a lot of thinking and planning and running around. It’s still not done yet… and her birthday is 2 days away, and I’m at work both days. Damn.

So that’s been my life since Ayzah’s birthday. Things are a little nutty and a little out of hand, but I’m holding it together. Hopefully by next week it’ll be calm again.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy 1st Birthday Ayzah! Getting ready to party hard!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mona  |  May 11, 2008 at 9:27 am

    busy alright!
    i loved the image of iman going, but it’s my birthday!
    let’s meet when things calm down a bit, some saturday, next or the week after?
    let me know :
    love to the girls, hope you’re taking care of yourself!

    Reply
  • 2. Sheza  |  May 12, 2008 at 7:13 am

    gosh hina! that’s hectic. hang in there babe! i remember when imran used to be out of town all the time…. life was crazy! but i also love that time to catch up on everything that i’ve been wanting to get at – all my mini projects get my attention only while he’s gone. alhamdolillah, cant complain! it just makes me appreciate single mothers sooo much more. hope u had a great mommy day!

    Reply
  • 3. jammie  |  May 13, 2008 at 12:33 am

    whoaaa- you need to stop volunteering yourself for so much and slow down babe. i know us supermoms are super but hell you need a time out!! inshallah everything will be fine- as you said the worst is over and all on the mend now. hope the birthday party goes well and we want pics!

    Reply
  • 4. Dariush  |  May 14, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Glad to hear that O’s Dad is better… as for all the other stuff, I’m sure you’ll get it done… although you might get a few grey hairs in the process…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Stats

var sc_project=3174830; var sc_invisible=0; var sc_partition=26; var sc_security="cb3e384c";
free web hit counter

